Before and After Fall Break

Oh man, the semester is just flying by. Midterms are already done and so I am already halfway through the semester. All the activities I have been doing make the time go by really quickly. I will give a quick rundown of everything that has happened since my last post.

First up is Family Weekend. On the first weekend of October families of many Elon Students visited campus to see their kids and enjoy a weekend filled with activities for the family. The weekend culminated with a home football game which Elon won.  Although my parents did not come for it, it was still fun meeting the families and parents of my friends.

Former President of Pakistan Pervez Mussaraff delivers fall Convocation Address

Next up was Fall Convocation. Every fall and spring semester Elon brings a pretty well known person in the world who has made a contribution to the world to come and talk to the Elon students. Last year we had the author of A Thousand Splendid Suns and The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini deliver the address. This year Elon brought the former President of Pakistan Pervez Musharaff to deliver the convocation address.  He talked about the role of Islam in the Middle East and why understanding Islam very important to the United States, especially with its heavy involvement in the region. It was a really interesting talk.

Fall break was last weekend and it was awesome and very much needed. One of my friends here owns a lake house about five minutes away from the campus so a bunch of us went down to South Carolina for the break. I have a really good friend who I went to high school with who goes to Clemson so I hung out with her and we went to the Clemson vs University of Maryland Game, it was a blast.

My high school friend Melita and I touching Howard Rock at the Clemson vs Maryland Football game

A few random things, I went to the beach, Sunset Shore along the coast in North Carolina. I Went with Inter Varsity and it was for their annual beach retreat, tons of fun. Model United Nations is also going very strongly, we started preparing for our big simulation next month so I’m pumped for that. I visited a Mosque last week as part of my Religion Class. We had to go to a religious center and observe and or participate in what was happening, it was definitely different  but I learned a lot from it.

Anyways, that’s all for now. Only one more month till the end of the semester and finals, things are moving really quickly.

Me and some of my good friends at the beach

Leave a Reply

